Survived Seeds the Hope of Continuity: Wayanad Community Seed Fest 2019

posted in: News Room | 0

Survived Seeds the Hope of Continuity

The 5th Seed Fest focus on ‘Mainstreaming agrobiodiversity to Combat Climate Change: Survived Seeds the Hope of Continuity’ has been inaugurated by Former Chief Secretary of Kerala, Sri. S M Vijayanand on 7th March 2019 at MSSRF CAbC, Wayanad. He mentioned that the finest option and a solution to face the flood and drought effectively is the successful management of the watershed. He also stated on the necessity for the protection of seed diversity to cope up with the climate variability induced natural calamity. The efficient utilization of Watershed based development and MNREGA is the need of the hour. The planning should be in micro-level as well as in multi-level. He also emphasised on the requisite of strengthening the people’s planning focused on tribal development, Agriculture and Environment.

In the occasion, based on the profound contribution for the conservation of agrobiodiversity, the award has been declared and presented to the traditional tribal farmers, Sri. Thengakolly Kelu and Edathana Chandu. Smt. Devla Thondarnadu, Sri. George Kalluvelil, Smt. Omana Kaniyampetta, Sri. Chami Ambalavayal, Sri. Annan Thavinhal, Sri. Ali Vengapally, Sri. Shelly Thondarnadu, Sri. Manuel Edavaka, Sri. Reji Pathanamthitta, Sri. Vidyadharan Cherthala, Sri. Suresh Pozhuthana, Sri. Abdulla Haji Padinharathara and Sri. Augestine Poothadi were honoured for their remarkable contribution on protecting the seeds in flood through the traditional farming practices.

The eminent personalities from the local government, policymakers, key partners and the stakeholders were actively involved in the proceedings.

The event has organised in partnership with M S Swaminathan Research Foundation, Wayanad Tribal Development Action Council, Seed Care, Kerala State Biodiversity Board, NABARD, Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment, Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India and HDFC Bank.